Meet the Boarders: Carmen & Berry

Screen Shot 2016-03-16 at 1.55.30 PM
Carmen & Berry at the Waredaca Fall Starter Horse Trials!

Berry Berry Bueno “Berry” came into my life Spring of 2015 from a program called Turning For Home out of Parx Racing. I was driving home and a messaged popped up on my phone from Facebook. When I was able to look at the post, it said “Congrats on your new horse.” Of course freaking out because I had no idea what my mother had just done or what possessed her. I was excited but panicked at the same time. I had been riding for years but never owned a horse. My Mom liked Berry because he was a pretty dapple gray and quiet according to the owner of the barn he was at.

Berry finally arrived at Waredaca the beginning of June 2015, where he joined the horses in the Red Barn. From that day on my life completely changed. I was at the barn at least 5 days week, taking lessons, riding on my own and more importantly taking care of a horse (which I had no clue on what to do). After the summer was over Berry moved over to the White Barn. I knew that there was only so much teaching/training that I could give an OTTB.

I am so thankful for everybody at Waredaca because without all of your help, I wouldn’t have learned so much in the past 8 months. Not to mention the friendships that I have built over the numerous years of riding at the barn. I am privileged to have such a place offer access to an array of training, instructors, facilities and of course, beer with the recent addition of the Waredaca Brewing Company. I am looking forward to a great 2016 with Berry as he just came back from a sunny vacation in Florida all ready for show season.

Screen Shot 2016-03-16 at 2.27.56 PM
Carmen & Berry enjoying a beautiful Florida day!

 

Leave a Reply

